Fatty Bear’s Delights

Just another WordPress.com weblog

Not Your Ordinary Burger January 30, 2010

Filed under: Main Course,sandwiches — fattybear @ 6:59 pm
Tags: ,

So I think it is fairly obvious I’m not the best of bloggers. I have issues with keeping a schedule, but never fear I am still here and still cooking.

So having ground chicken left over from the stuffed peppers I had to do some quick thinking of how to use it up so it didn’t go to waste. Cooking for a small crowd, meaning 1 or 2, is difficult when it seems like everything you buy comes in bulk portions. So you find yourself a) using it all at once and ending up with bazillion of leftovers or b) you end up finding that meat,produce, fruit item you meant to put to good use in another recipe transforming into a UFO in your fridge.

To help resolve my issue of eating leftovers for eternity and UFOs I have come up with a means to spread it out over time by making foods that can be frozen. Frozen meals are genius. (Tips for freezing food: http://www.fsis.usda.gov/FactSheets/Focus_On_Freezing/index.asp, http://busycooks.about.com/od/freezingfood/Freezing_and_Refrigerating_Food.htm). It allows you to have the homecook yumminess without the hardwork, which is really nice after a long day at work. Back to the food now…

I had leftover ground chicken. I also had a taco flavor craving, but I didn’t actually want tacos, if that makes any sense…. So to satisfy this craving I decided to make an inside-out taco chicken burger. And to make it extra special I decided to make my own taco seasoning. So brace yourself for taco chicken burger awesomeness and bask in the happiness of knowing you can make bazillions of these burgers, freeze them, and enjoy them in less than 10 minutes whenever another craving strikes. Enjoy!

Inside-Out Taco Chicken Burger

I'm a taco...sorta

INGREDIENTS:

1 lb Ground chicken, depending on burger size should make about 3-4

1/2 cup shredded cheddar cheese

1-2 tablespoons DIY taco seasoning, recipe follows.

wrap or bun

fixings of your choice:

lettuce

salsa

avacado

sour cream

tomatoes

DIRECTIONS:

TACO SEASONING: I kind of just chucked all these ingredients in in proportions I thought was right based on how spicy, garlicky, oniony I wanted it, but for people who need a bit more structure here is a good guide from All Recipes Site. This is another great thing to make in bulk and save for whenever you want that taco flavor…

Chili pepper, garlic powder, onion powder, cumin, black pepper, white pepper, cilantro, cayenne pepper, and pepper flakes. ( I like pepper in lots of forms 🙂 )

Put ground chicken meat in a bowl. Mix with taco seasoning. Divide the ground meat into portions of 3 or 4 depending on desired burger size. Measure out your cheese now so you don’t contaminate it with chicken hands by reaching into the bag.

To make burger divide each of your portions in half. Pat one half into a flat disk, it doesn’t have to be too thick because remember this is only half of the burger. Pat the other half into a round disk about the same size as the first. Sprinkle one half with about 1/8 cup cheese. Cover with other disk half and seal. Another method I have seen is taking your whole portion patting it flat, fill with fillings, roll into ball, and pat into disk shape again. Do whatever makes your cooking heart happy. *You might be able to put your salsa in there as well. I haven’t tried this yet. I imagine it will freeze alright…

Burgers are ready to be cooked or frozen! If you freeze them I recommend plastic wrap first and then foil. When you go to cook them later no need to defrost just cook straight from frozen. Just make sure not matter when you eat them the temperature gets to at least 165 degrees Fahrenheit internally.

 

Leave a Reply

