Fatty Bear’s Delights

Just another WordPress.com weblog

Sunday Sweet #3 January 24, 2010

Filed under: Breakfast — fattybear @ 5:19 pm
Tags: , ,

As I have previously expressed I love pancakes. Luckily for me I have a friend who is awesome at making pancakes, let’s call him Sir Awesome. Sir Awesome is always coming up with new pancakes to feed me and challenge me with picking a new favorite. Typically, I pick the pancake currently in front of me. I don’t know what I would do if we had a pancake extravaganza.

His latest inspiration for pancakes came from Giada De Laurentiis’ Blueberry Ricotta Pancakes with a HONEY SYRUP! You have not had syrup of yumminess until you’ve had this stuff. I kept asking for more and more to be spooned on my pancakes.

The one thing about Sir Awesome’s pancakes is that he is always tweaking them with secret ingredients. That being said when I wrote up this recipe I tried thinking WWSAD; the one thing I know for certain he would tell you all is do not limit yourself to blueberries any berry/chocolate will taste delicious in your pancake, GO WILD!

BLUEBERRY RICOTTA PANCAKES

You won't go back to regular pancakes...

INGREDIENTS

  • 2 cups water
  • 1/3 cup sugar
  • 1/3 cup honey
  • 1 tsp orange extract (my addition)
  • 1 1/2 teaspoons vanilla extract
  • 2 cups pancake and waffle mix (recommended: Krusteaz)
  • 1 cup whole milk ricotta cheese
  • 1 teaspoon cinnamon (my addition)
  • 2/3 cup frozen blueberries

DIRECTIONS

Stir 1/3 cup of water and sugar in a small saucepan over medium heat until the sugar dissolves, about 5 minutes. Stir in the honey and orange extract. Set aside and keep the honey syrup warm.

Using a rubber spatula, stir the remaining 1 2/3 cups* of water and vanilla in a large bowl. Add the pancake mix and cinnamon and stir just until moistened but still lumpy. Stir in the ricotta into the pancake mixture, then stir gently to incorporate the ricotta but maintain a lumpy batter. Fold in the blueberries.

*I found the batter turned out really thin. I would recommend less water or more pancake mix. Best to add pancake mix first and gradually add water until batter seems correct consistency.

Heat a griddle over medium heat. Butter the griddle. Working in batches, spoon 1/4 cup of batter onto the griddle for each pancake. Cook until golden brown, about 3 minutes per side. Serve with the honey syrup.

 

Leave a Reply

