Fatty Bear’s Delights

Just another WordPress.com weblog

What’s up Doc!? May 19, 2009

Filed under: Breakfast,Main Course — fattybear @ 6:36 am
Tags: , ,

My sister the other day was sorely disappointed that I had breakfast items missing from my food recipes, and I agree with her. The things is, my favorite breakfast items are not cooked by me so I forget to pester who make them for the recipes so I can post them. Well folks, the wait is over. Breakfast is making its appearance on Fatty Bear’s Delights and we are starting with….

PANCAKES!!!

Ordinarily, I am not a huge fan of pancakes…I’m more of a waffle girl., but I have a friend who makes the most wonderful pancakes and always finds the most unique recipes to work with or he comes up with them off the top if his head. I like to think he’s a pancake genius. His pancakes reduce me to becoming something like this duck…

Either A…pestering for pancakes at every moment….

pancakes

Or B….

I think you get the picture. Anyways, You will not be sad with the pancakes below so what are you waiting for?? Get in the kitchen and whip up a batch now. Woo that fatty bear in your life.

Carrot Cake Pancakes

Your favorite cake in breakfast form!

Your favorite cake in breakfast form!

adapted from the food network

  • 1 1/4 cups all-purpose flour
  • 2 tablespoons finely chopped pecans
  • 2 teaspoons baking powder
  • 1 teaspoon ground cinnamon
  • 1/4 teaspoon salt
  • 1/4 teaspoon ground ginger
  • Dash nutmeg
  • 1 egg, lightly beaten
  • 1/3 cup packed brown or granulated sugar
  • 1 cup milk
  • 2 cups finely grated carrots
  • 1 teaspoon vanilla extract
Cream Cheese Spread
  • 4 ounces cream cheese
  • 1/4 cup powdered sugar
  • 2 tablespoons milk
  • 1/2 teaspoon vanilla extract
  • 1 dash ground cinnamon

In a bowl, combine flour, pecans, baking powder, cinnamon, salt, ginger, and nutmeg.

In a separate bowl, combine egg, brown sugar, milk, carrots, and vanilla; mix well.

Stir carrot mixture into dry ingredients until moistened. Pour batter by 1/4 cupful onto a greased hot griddle. Turn when bubbles form on the top of pancake; flip and cook until golden brown.

For topping, blend cream cheese, powdered sugar, milk, and vanilla until smooth. Sprinkle with cinnamon, and serve with pancakes.