Fatty Bear’s Delights

Just another WordPress.com weblog

Minty Fresh…Blow a kiss my way January 6, 2009

Filed under: Sweets — fattybear @ 11:14 pm
Tags: , , , ,

My favorite things about the holidays are having lots of time to cook creations that have been bubbling in my head and having my large family around to serve as test tasters for my creations 😀

Prior to going home this break my sister and her friend came to visit me and we watched the movie Waitress. It was an excellent movie about a woman in a miserable marriage, finds herself pregnant, and finds escape by dreaming up and making outlandish pies. So that may not sound like the makings for a good movie, but you’ll just have to trust me that it was good. Anyways, the point of this tangent is the movie had my sister’s friend craving pie. I told her that I would maker her pie she just had to tell me what she would like, well she told me to be creative like the character and to invent my own, so that is just what I did.

Originally I wanted to use these ingredients to make a minty brownie, which I might still do, so if you like the pie keep an eye out for its brownie cousin.

PEPPERMINT MOUSSE PIE

MINT-TASTIC!!!

MINT-TASTIC!!!

INGREDIENTS

*NOTE: This is a 9-inch deep dish pie plate, smaller plates will need adjustment in ingredient amounts.

Crust:

2 rows of Mint Creme Oreos (regular oreos work too, just not as much green, minty fun 🙂 ), makes about 2 cups

4 tablespoons butter, melted

Mousse:

2 packages instant chocolate pudding

2 cups milk

1 container cool whip, thawed

15 peppermint patties, cut up

Garnish:

1/2 cup oreo cookie crumbs, crumbled

5 peppermint patties, cut up

  1. Preheat oven to 350 degrees Fahrenheit.
  2. To make the crust crumble oreos, use a food processor, blender, or pound it in a sealed bag with a rolling pin (good for taking out excess aggression). Mix well with the melted butter. Press into a lightly buttered pie plate.
  3. Bake for 10-12 minutes. Crust may not look firm, but will become firm with cooling. Do NOT press the crust into the plate even if it looks puffy it will make it rock hard when you cool and try to eat it. Allow crust to cool completely.
Cookie monster says yum!

Cookie monster says yum!

  1. To prepare mousse: mix instant pudding mix and milk together with a whisk for about 5 minutes. Gently fold in the whipped cream, until well mixed. Stir in peppermint patty bits.
A cloud of chocolate goodness

A cloud of chocolate goodness

  1. Spread mousse into cooled cookies crust.
  2. Garnish with cookie crumbs and peppermint patty bits.
  3. Chill in refrigerator 2 1/2 hours or overnight.

So I know this sounds a bit time consuming, but it really is worth it especially if you are a mint fan. Enjoy!

 

Leave a Reply

